At that point in life when you stop and wonder;
“What Comes Next ?”
There are many of such points in life,
When you are graduating from high school,
Then the proper graduation from University,
When you’re done with NYSC,
When you’ve been working in a place for about 5 years,
When you are ready to make that life-long commitment to another,
When you ready to start having children,
You should not wait till the very point before you ask yourself, “What Comes Next ?” I believe you plan ahead so these important moments in life would not take you by surprise. A wise man said, “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.”

Having a vision (knowing where you going, who you want to be, what impact you want to make) is key.

The list goes on and on.

It’s funny how when you’re in grade school your teachers tell you “you haven’t seen nothing yet”, then you get to high school and they say, “wait till you get to the university”,
Unlike some others who have probably experienced a bit of the real world, I found myself in a Christian University and you know what that means- No freedom and you hear people telling you every other day what happens in “real” universities.
Well, it did not only potray “Lack of Freedom” for me, it did way more than that;

In the beginning I felt I didn’t quite fit in for one reason or the other but along the line I learnt to adapt, adapting gave me an oppurtunity to meet and understand people around me. I had never met people who lived outside Lagos, Abuja or Kaduna before. Silly as it sounds, I thought every other states had bushes, few concrete houses and poor roads and uncivilized humans. I met people who lived in Warri, Bauchi, Jos and so on. One of the main reason I did not want to school in Nigeria was so I could meet people from different countries and continents of the world but schooling here made me realize I did not even know my own fellow Nigerians. I’ve met people with unique personlaities e.g. My enthusiastic Urhobo friend.
I’m more of a “learn from experience” kind of person and being here helped me not to make the dumb choices I know I would have made otherwise. It also brought me closer to God. I would always say the best decision I ever made was giving Him my all, it’s been onwards and upwards since then.

So you’re at that point and it seems like you are moving towards the unknown feeling anxious and excited about the future, knowing things are never going to be the same again because that is life, you will never see some people again, hoping things would go your way and the road would be smooth- money, love, cars and “Boom!” you are made.
I realized life is not always that straight forward, it’s rather unfair;
Ask the girl who moved to New York City to become a ballerina and is working as a waitress in Brooklyn,
Or the man who was an NBA star before a ghastly accident took away his ablity to walk.

Some would say they probably did not have God on their side and scream a “God Forbid” but these things happen not only to unbelievers but also believers. The word says rain falls on both the righteous and the unrighteous. Speaking about unfortunate situations someone said, “These things happen to the best of us.”, we just have to get up and show these situations that we are the best and they picked the wrong star to mess with.
Although we may go through trails and troubles, life should not have your back on the ground,
“Fall seven times, stand up eight.” because that is what success is. Do not let the troubles you go through keep you down.

The beautiful thing about being a child of God is learning to dance in the storms, praising in the storm because you just know, you know that all thing will work together for your good because you love God. How many things ? All things. There are just too many scriptures to back up the success of a God lover knowing fully well that God is not man that He should lie and His promises are Yes and Amen.

As we go into the world to shine because “duh!” we are stars, remember the word is life.It is real, it works.

“In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Happy Easter 🙂 . The life, death and resurrection of Jesus is the reason for this season not Easter bunnies and colorful eggs. x

Author:

20. In Love with Jesus. Thinker. Blessed. iLove my mum.

Leave a Reply

